The model environmental role of government agencies

The model environmental role of government agencies

 

Brussels Environment

  • certification
  • étude
  • gestion environnementale

What would be the organisational, financial and environmental impacts of requiring government agencies in the Region to play a role as environmental models? This was the question that was put to 21 Solutions with a view to providing input for the thinking of the Government of the Brussels-Capital Region.

 

To evaluate the impact of such a requirement, 21 Solutions worked with its partner Comase to draw up an inventory of properties, conduct a documentary study, in-depth individual interviews and an online survey and hold a focus group meeting.

 

More than 270 public-sector and related organisations were listed, with more than 2,700 buildings and 16 different categories of property use. More than a third of the organisations are already engaged in an environmental role model approach recognised by the Region or internationally.

 

 

The model environmental role of government agencies
The model environmental role of government agencies

 

It seems that such an approach would indeed reduce the environmental impact of the Brussels-Capital Region while also making substantial financial savings possible, provided that there is a simple and clear system in place to encourage the adoption of eco-management at all levels.

Eco-exemplarité des administrations publiques

Eco-exemplarité des administrations publiques

 

Bruxelles Environnement

  • certification
  • étude
  • gestion environnementale

Quels seraient les impacts organisationnels, financiers et environnementaux d’une obligation d’exemplarité environnementale pour les pouvoirs publics installés sur le territoire régional ? C’est la question qui a été posée à 21 Solutions, afin d’alimenter la réflexion du Gouvernement de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale.

 

Pour évaluer l’impact d’une telle obligation d’exemplarité, 21 Solutions a réalisé avec son partenaire Comase un cadastre, une étude documentaire, des entretiens individuels poussés, une enquête en ligne et un Focus Group.

 

Plus de 270 organismes publics et apparentés ont été référencés, regroupant plus de 2.700 bâtiments et 16 types différents d’affectation. Plus d’un tiers des organismes sont déjà engagés dans une démarche d’éco-exemplarité reconnue par la Région ou au niveau international.

 

 

Eco-exemplarité des administrations publiques
Eco-exemplarité des administrations publiques

 

Il apparaît qu’une telle démarche serait effectivement de nature à réduire significativement les impacts environnementaux de la Région Bruxelles-Capitale tout en permettant des économies financières substantielles, sous réserve cependant d’un dispositif simple et clair, encourageant l’appropriation de la démarche d’éco-gestion à tous les niveaux.